Infinity Train TV Review

infinity-train-poster

Rating: 5/5

Apparently CN is trying to get new shows off the ground, one of which has really piqued my interest, that being Infinity Train. So far only the pilot has been released, but ever since I watched it on YouTube it’s been stuck in my head and I had to talk about it here. From what I understand the show is about a girl named Tulip (voiced by Ashley Johnson, the voice of Ellie from The Last of Us and Terra from Teen Titans, and currently stars on Blindspot), and her robot friend One-One who splits into two robots, Glad-One (voiced by Jeremy Crutchley who sounds like John Oliver) and Sad-One (voiced by Owen Dennis, the creator of the show, who sounds like Maurice LaMarche), navigating through a mysterious train that is seemingly limitless and each car housing an internal dimension. It’s very interesting in regards to its premise, simple yet dynamic animation, voice acting, characters, humor, and the possibilities it presents through its surrealism. It kinda reminds me of some the recent cartoons both CN and Disney have done, in a way.

infinity-train-pic-5

I grew up with Cartoon Network. The Powerpuff Girls, Johnny Bravo, Dexter’s Laboratory, Samurai Jack, Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, Ed, Edd n Eddy, Teen Titans (yeah fuck you, Teen Titans GO!), Ben 10 (original show; for fuck’s sake WHY is there a reboot of it? especially a few years after the last sequel show to it? it’s only a little more than a decade old!) and more. But of course as I got older, things changed, and I kinda moved on. I’d still look in from time to time, but with work, school, and life in general, I just didn’t have as much opportunities to sit back and watch like before. It’s probably a good thing though, because around the time this was happening, CN went through some pretty dark times. The quality of their shows were declining, and for some reason they decided to do LIVE ACTION shows. How does that make any sense? It’s CARTOON NETWORK. Thankfully someone else got to be in charge and put CN back on track, bringing in awesome shows like Adventure Time, Regular Show, Steven Universe, The Amazing World of Gumball, and We Bare Bears. Granted, I didn’t get into them until after they’d been on for a few years, but I’m glad for liking them now. Of course, there’s still a few duds here or there, and then there are the notoriously bad pieces of shit that just NEED to die, like Teen Titans GO!, and I’m looking forward to eviscerating that pile of garbage when I get the chance.

infinity-train-pic-1

Like I said, a lot of the good CN shows have been on for quite a while, so it makes sense that they end the way they are and with some dignity and grace, and not let them run too fucking long like The Simpsons, Family Guy, SpongeBob SquarePants, and The Fairly OddParents, suffering major drops in quality along the way. What better way to fill in those shows place than with some new ones? Well, so far as I’ve seen, some of those new shows are meh at best and cringeworthy at worst. I tried watching PowerPuff Girls 2016 and Mighty Magiswords, but I just can’t get into them. Then there’s that whatever the hell that thing is that’s called My Knight and Me, and while I haven’t watched the show itself, as soon as I saw that ad with that kid saying “squire on fire”, I knew I had to stay away from it (what’s even sadder for me is that character is voiced by Jules de Jongh, the same person who voiced Faith Connors in Mirror’s Edge). And it seems I’m not the only one to feel this way. It’s even more baffling how much CN is airing TTG and how they promote it, especially with that stupid fucking ad of Cyborg singing obnoxiously about how the audience should spend their Fridays watching that godawful show and I say FUCK THAT, barely giving other shows a chance like Justice League Action, which is a pretty awesome show and succeeds where TTG fails at.

The pilot of this show isn’t exactly the beginning of the story. Rather it starts in medias res, after apparently something already happened and this is a continuation of that event. Tulip and One-One manage to solve a balancing puzzle by having One-One split in two, while she’s trying to figure out the glowing number on her hand marked “53”. After One-One makes a joke about finding a “fart car”, and Tulip says they won’t, lo and behold they go into a fart car. Then the next scene is them getting out and Tulip being disgusted by it, without it being shown what the car was like while going through it, and this is actually a good thing because from what I’ve learned from other shows and the people who review em, is that when it comes to disgust and humor, you don’t want to disgust the audience more than the characters.

infinity-train-pic-3

The next car they go into is a world inhabited by anthropomorphic corgi dogs, the leader of which is named Atticus (voiced by Ernie Hudson, who played Winston Zeddemore in Ghostbusters 1-2 and voiced Agent Fowler in Transformers: Prime). It’s here where a lot of the humor really shines, often making lots of dog-related jokes, and I just can’t help myself but laugh, they’re really that funny. Tulip, One-One, and Atticus join together to fight a “shadow monster”, which at first they thought to be a spider on a lamp, but then they see some robot made out of tentacles and a masked face, who tells Tulip to “return to her seat”. After Atticus turns the valve to shut off the broken water pipe and Tulip slams a door in the machine’s face, it leaves in the hole at the roof of the car. The number on Tulip’s hand drops down to “49” and the pilot ends.

Look, I’m not gonna lie, but this was friggin awesome. The animation, the voice acting, the humor, the characters, the premise, and everything else about this, it’s just so good. I want to see more. I want to know what this “infinity train” is, who made it, how it got made, how did Tulip get on it, and all the possibilities this train is capable of. It’s got a real air of danger and mystery behind it, kind of a mix between Steven Universe, Gravity Falls, and a couple other recent CN and Disney shows. CN, if you’re reading this, PLEASE greenlight this show! You know you can have more than just Teen Titans GO! right? You’re gonna need some new shows, don’t ya? I think this would be a good fit. Also please cancel Teen Titans GO!, it’s fucking stupid, pretty much everyone hates it, and yes I will get to that when I get to it, and give it a good ass thrashing that it deserves.

infinity-train-pic-2

Though part of me is pessimistic considering how CN handled this, having this air on February 11 of this year (my birthday, btw) at 6 AM, which is kinda baffling. I mean, why couldn’t this air at a later time that day, maybe more people would’ve watched it? Then again, at the same time, depending on the amount of people that watched it, and it was a little more than 700,000 last time I checked, it shows the dedication they have for watching it and the kind of fanbase it has already, not to mention how many views (more than a million and a half) and likes (more than 150,000) it has online right now, which are pretty high last I checked. There are even friggin petitions to get this picked up, fan art, and others have given it pretty good reviews. So there is an audience for this. All I know is that once the show does get picked up, I’m getting onboard riding the rails on this crazy infinity train. šŸ™‚

infinity-train-pic-4

Leave a Reply

